Soor Ploom

A Soor Ploom cocktail

Having a Scottish father means soor plooms, along with Irn Bru and tablet, were a childhood favourite of mine. Soor plooms (sour plums) in this case refers to the round, acid green and acid tasting boiled sweet. A quarter pound of those and your taste buds would be numb for the next 24 hours.

I don’t know what made me think of these verdant delicacies over the weekend – perhaps the 99 I treated myself to at the beach on Sunday afternoon was a catalyst for childhood reminiscing. Whatever, I was glad I did as recalling their so-wrong-its-right flavour made me realise a sours-based cocktail would be a great way to use up the homemade plum liqueur languishing in my cocktail cabinet.

Naming the resulting drink a Soor Ploom did throw up an interesting dilemma. Should I or should I not go for the acid colour as well as the acid taste? I decided against it, as strident colours in cocktails can usually only be achieved with artificial colours (though I’m currently toying with the idea of using a beetroot-infused gin in a Martini).

And so, Ladies and Gentlemen, I present for the very first time the au naturel Soor Ploom cocktail. Its gentle appearance belies an extremely tart finish and it’s pretty potent too. Be warned, it’s likely to leave more than just your tongue feeling numb.

Soor Ploom recipe

Soor Ploom cocktail ingredients

1.5 Plum liqueur (I placed wild plums and sugar to a mason jar and covered with vodka. You should strain after one month and let stand for at least one more. If that’s too much trouble then muddling some halved plums with vodka would also work or Bramley and Gage plum liqueur might be a good substitute)
0.5 Apricot Brandy
0.5 lemon juice
Few dashes of orange bitters
3 or 4 thick slices of fresh ginger
1 egg white

Lightly muddle the ginger in a shaker. Add ice and the remaining ingredients. Shake and strain into a cocktail glass.

Tip: Add a few dashes of sugar syrup if you prefer a sweeter finish

One thought on “Soor Ploom

  1. Have just read this blog for the first time and it is most discerning and entertaining. Keep on mixing, imbibing and writing about cocktails.

Leave a Reply

